Australia braces for Omicron as states and territories tighten border restrictions. Allowing travellers from Japan and South Korea into Australia without needing to quarantine from Wednesday will go ahead as planned at this stage, Trade Minister Dan Tehan says.

However, the Morrison government is keeping a watchful eye on developments surrounding the new Omicron variant of the coronavirus.

Australia has shut its borders to nine southern African countries and NSW, Victoria and the ACT have brought in new rules for all international arrivals amid concern over Omicron.</